Aurora Rising by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kauffman.

When I started my bookstagram few months ago, I kept seeing this book everywhere. Everyone was raving about how good it was and as a bookstagram newbie, I got carried away and ordered it. Two weeks ago, when it finally arrived, I started to feel nervous because I had this little fear that it wouldn’t live up to my expectations.

Well, let me tell you, it not only lived up to my expectations but EXCEEDED them! This book, despite being sci-fi (not my most read genre) gracefully made its way to my list of favorite books. I loved the characters, the plot, the atmosphere, well..everything! Jay and Amie really knew what they were doing. And oh, let’s also add their names to my list of favorite authors!

Aurora Rising had everything: strong characters, engaging storyline, mind-boggling twists and so much more! First of all, letʼs talk about the characters. I absolutely loved all of them, but my favourite was Finian. He was sassy, funny and sometimes even pretended to be stupid. He was basically the most entertaining character of the whole squad.

I also loved how we got to experience the story from different perspectives. Each character was unique, and you could already tell whose point of view you were reading without even having to look at the header. Their languages were different and what stood out the most to me was, the fact that I could emotionally connect with the characters. I could clearly understand their feelings and could feel for them. I also loved how short Zilaʼs POV were. Everyone thought that she was such a calm person, who had nothing really going on her mind. This aspect was beautifully reflected in her POVʼs.

Squad 312 is a very diverse squad and I loved how the characters didnʼt take too much time to integrate the squad and start looking out for each other. That being said, the story was quite fast paced, which I know a lot of people donʼt like. But for me, I found it perfect because an action-packed story needs to be fast-paced, right?

< s p o i l e r  a l e r t >

please skip the next two paragraphs if you havenʼt read the story yet 😉

Auri really reminded me of Eleven from Stranger Things. Whenever she tried to control something with her mind, her nose would bleed, exactly like Eleven. I loved Auriʼs curse words: “son of a biscuit” and “mothercustard”!  If you liked Stranger Things and Guardians of the Galaxy, youʼll definitely enjoy Aurora Rising!

Okay you guys, did Cat deserve such an ending? My heart bled for Cat and Tyler. They were so in love with each other but never really got the chance to have cute moments like Kal and Auri. And , isnʼt Kal the most romantic alien ever? I ship him and Auri so much and I loved how they were willing to give each other space (pun not intended) and time to sort out their feelings.

Iʼm so glad that I havenʼt read the Illuminae Files yet because this allowed me to enjoy this book, in all its splendor, without comparing it to Jayʼs and Amieʼs previous work. I cannot wait to start this magnificient series by my new favourite authors.

Anyway, if youʼre up for a hilarious, suspenseful and heart-wrenching adventure in space, definitely check out Aurora Rising. Youʼll absolutely love Squad 312 ‘cause itʼs got the sass, the humour, the emotions and the great space vibes! Also, special thanks to Magellan for providing us with such accurate information! 🚀❤

Leave a comment